Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

B.C.'s Technology Impact Awards announce 2023 winners

Nine companies won awards at Friday's gala
The awards were held in front of a sell-out crowd tonight at the Parq Vancouver

Nine companies won awards tonight at the Technology Impact Awards, which marked its 30th anniversary. There were also eight leaders who were inducted into the Innovators Hall of Fame. Inc. (Nasdaq:AMZN) and the B.C. government were the main sponsors of the event, which attracted a sell-out crowd at the Parq Vancouver. 

The eight innovators who were inducted into the Innovators Hall of Fame were: 

  • Judy Bishop: GaleForce Solutions, former president
  • Kathy Butler: CIBC Capital Markets in B.C., managing director and head; Social Venture Partners, partner
  • Andrew Harries: Sierra Wireless Inc., founder
  • Don Mattrick: EA Worldwide Studios, former president; Zynga, former CEO
  • Firoz Rasul: Ballard Power Systems Inc. (TSX:BLDP), former CEO and chairman; Aga Khan University, former president
  • Shannon Rogers Roy (1969-2023): Global Relay, president and general consul
  • Geordie Rose: D-Wave Systems Inc., founder; Sanctuary Cognitive Systems Corp., founder; Kindred Systems Inc., founder
  • William (Bill) H. Thompson (1922-1986): Eldevco, founder

The corporate award winners are as follows: 

Company of the Year – Startup | Presented in partnership with Microsoft

Company of the Year – Growth | Presented in partnership with Osler

Company of the Year – Scale | Presented in partnership with Clio

Company of the Year – Anchor | Presented in partnership with Blakes

Gamechanger – Climate Leadership | Presented in partnership with MDA

Excellence in Industry Innovation | Presented in partnership with Accenture

Gamechanger – Diversity & Inclusion | Presented in partnership with PwC

Excellence in Company Culture | Presented in partnership with SAP

Gamechanger – Ambition | Presented in partnership with AbCellera

“BC Tech is proud to have played a part in the journey of so many BC tech icons and success stories across our 30-year history,” said Jill Tipping, CEO of BC Tech. “Tonight we were honoured to celebrate the achievements of our Hall of Fame inductees and the 2023 TIAs award winners, showcasing the key role of innovation to BC's economy.”

[email protected]