Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Shamrocks get thrilling OT win over Thunder to draw even in series

Game 5 goes Saturday in Langley
Shamrocks defender Nick Preston gets in the way of Thunder forward Curtis Dickson during Game 4 action at The Q Centre on Thursday. DARREN STONE, TIMES COLONIST

The Victoria Shamrocks needed overtime Thursday night in Game 4, but they’ve clawed all the way back into their Western Lacrosse Association semifinal series with the Langley Thunder.

After Curtis Dickson disappointed the home crowd with a snipe with just 38 seconds remaining in the third period to force overtime, Jacob Ruest and Chris Wardle scored in the 10-minute extra frame to send the Shamrocks to a 12-10 victory, evening the series a 2-2. Game 5 goes Saturday at 4 p.m. at the Langley Events Centre. Game 6 is set for Sunday at 5 p.m. at The Q Centre.

It didn’t look good early for the Shamrocks and the home crowd of 1,442 as the Thunder struck early for the first two goals of the game and held a 4-1 lead after one period. But the Shamrocks started to show some life in the second when Larson Sundown, with two, and Jesse King gave the home side the last three goals of the middle frame to cut Langley’s lead to 7-6. And when Dallas Wade struck early in the second it was game on.

Marshal King, on a power play at 17:16 of the third, and Sundown at 18:27 looked to send the Shamrocks on their way until Dickson silenced the building, setting up overtime.

Sundown finished with four goals and was named the game’s first star, while King finished with a goal and four assists.

In the other WLA semifinal series, the Nanaimo Timbermen can book their spot in the final tonight with a win against the Coquitlam Adanacs in Game 4 at Frank Crane Arena.

In Ontario, where they’re playing for the right to host the 2022 Mann Cup championship series, the Six Nations Chiefs moved into the Major Series Lacrosse final thanks to a 10-9 double-overtime win Thursday over the Cobourg Kodiaks in Game 4 of their semifinal series. The Chiefs will take on the Peterborough Lakers in the best-of-seven final.