Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Here are the 14 people appointed to Order of B.C. in 2022

Fourteen outstanding British Columbians are receiving the highest recognition available in the province on B.C.
Jody Wilson-Raybould speaks during a Remembrance Day ceremony in Vancouver, on Thursday, Nov. 7, 2019. Canada’s former justice minister is among those appointed to the Order of B.C. on Monday. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck

Fourteen outstanding British Columbians are receiving the highest recognition available in the province on B.C. Day.

The Order of B.C. is awarded by lieutenant-governor Janet Austin on Aug. 1 each year to “incredible individuals who have done so much to enrich their communities,” said Austin in an announcement.

“Their leadership and generous service has enhanced the lives of so many British Columbians and has contributed to shaping a better future for all residents of our province.”

Among those joining the order in 2022 are familiar names from politics such as Jody Wilson-Raybould, Joy MacPhail and Geoff Plant, First Nations pioneers such as Rosanne Casimir and Dr. Nadine Caron, and community leaders such as Nezhat Khosrowshahi, Fred Mah and Harinder Mahil.

The 14 were chosen from among 194 nominees, and join a list of 489 recipients since the Order of B.C. was formed in 1989.

The complete list, in alphabetical order:

Dr. Nadine Rena Caron, Prince George — Caron is the first general surgeon of First Nations descent in Canada and first Indigenous female medical school graduate of UBC, and a longtime advocate for equity in the health care system.

Kúkpi7 (Chief) Rosanne Casimir, Kamloops — The elected leader of the Tk’emlúps te Secwépemc Nation has been a lifelong advocate for the community and women leaders.

Nezhat Khosrowshahi, Vancouver — Co-founder of Inwest Group of Companies that launched Future Shop, Khosrowshahi has been a volunteer for dozens of community and charitable organizations from B.C. Women’s Foundation to the Nature Conservancy.

Kathy Kinloch, Surrey — The Canadian business leader is current president of the B.C. Institute of Technology, the first woman to hold the position, and an advocate for First Nations reconciliation and other anti-racism initiatives.

Joy MacPhail, Vancouver — The NDP MLA for Vancouver-Hastings from 1991 to 2005 was deputy premier, minister of finance and minister of health during her tenure, and still serves on multiple boards.

Fred Ting Shek Mah, Vancouver — An immigrant from China who has fought for the rights and historical legacy of Chinatown and its residents for decades, Mah had a day declared in his honour in Vancouver in 2013.

Harinder Mahil, Coquitlam — A champion and advocate for workers’ and South Asians’ rights, Mahil is a former head of the B.C. Human Rights Commission.

Maureen Maloney, Victoria — The lawyer and human rights advocate is a former head of the Simon Fraser University School of Public Policy.

Geoff Plant, Vancouver — The lawyer and politician was attorney general of B.C. from 2001 to 2005 and has worked extensively on First Nations relationships between both the province and corporations.

Christine Sinclair, Portland, Oregon — One of Canada’s greatest soccer players, Sinclair led the national team for two decades and continues to play professionally for Portland Thorns FC and for the Canadian national team.

Paul Spong, Alert Bay — The native of New Zealand is an environmental leader and director of OrcaLab, which does research into the state of killer whale populations off the B.C. coast.

Gerald St. Germain, Langley — A former police officer and businessman, Gerry St. Germain was a Conservative Member of Parliament and senator. He was the first Métis to be named to a federal cabinet.

Jody Wilson-Raybould, Quathiaski Cove — The Canadian lawyer and former politician was ousted from PM Justin Trudeau’s caucus for refusing, as justice minister, to drop an investigation into SNC-Lavalin.

Bruce Munro Wright, Vancouver — Lifelong advocate for the arts, the retired lawyer has been chair of Vancouver Opera and the Vancouver Art Gallery and a member of many community arts groups.

An award ceremony for the recipients is planned for Government House in Victoria this fall.