Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Federal election candidates on Vancouver Island

Here is the full list of federal election candidates in Vancouver Island’s seven ridings. Nominations for the Sept. 20 vote have now closed.
Elections Canada vote sign. ELECTIONS CANADA

Here is the full list of federal election candidates in Vancouver Island’s seven ridings. Nominations for the Sept. 20 vote have now closed.


NDP — First-term MP Laurel Collins, a former Victoria city councillor, is the incumbent

Liberals — Oceans and climate researcher Nikki Macdonald, a former Jean Chrétien adviser who also ran in 2019

Greens — UVic law student Nick Loughton

Conservatives — Hannah Hodson, assistant to a Conservative MP in Ottawa

People’s Party of Canada — John Randal Phipps

Animal Protection Party - Jordan Reichert has run as an animal-rights activist at the federal, provincial and municipal levels

Communist — Janis Zroback

Saanich-Gulf Islands

Greens — Elizabeth May has held the seat since 2011

NDP — Sabina Singh, an academic and activist, ran in 2019

Conservatives — David Busch, a Saanich lawyer, also ran in 2019

Liberals — Sherri Moore-Arbour, a communications professional from Galiano Island

PPC — David Hilderman.

Communist — Dock Currie


NDP — Randall Garrison has been the MP since 2011

Liberals — Doug Kobayashi, a Colwood councillor and business consultant

Greens — Forest researcher Harley Gordon

PPC — Rob Anderson

Conservatives — Environmental researcher Laura Frost

Communist — Tyson Strandlund has run multiple times


NDP — Incumbent Alistair MacGregor was first elected in 2015

Liberals — Blair Herbert, a realtor, also ran in 2019

Conservatives — Alana DeLong, a Thetis Island resident who served for 14 years as an MLA in Alberta, also ran for this seat in 2019 and ran for the B.C. Liberals in 2017

PPC — Mark Hecht, writer and former university instructor

Greens — Chemainus resident and poverty law advocate Lia Versaevel, who ran twice for the B.C. Greens


Greens — Paul Manly, won the seat in a 2019 byelection, then in the general election later that year

NDP — School trustee Lisa Marie Barron

Liberals — Michelle Corfield is back for her third straight attempt

Conservatives — Tamara Kronis, a former Toronto lawyer who turned to the jewelry trade

PPC — Stephen Welton


NDP — Gord Johns has been MP since 2015

Liberals — Susan Farlinger, formerly a DFO biologist and manager and Canada’s lead negotiator at the Pacific Salmon Commission

Conservatives — Mary Lee, a communications professional and former major in the Canadian Armed Forces

PPC — Robert Eppich, Denman Island resident who managed a communications department before becoming a software developer

Greens — Susanne Lawson, longtime environmental campaigner

Marxist-Leninists — Barbara Biley has run multiple times

North Island- Powell River

NDP — Incumbent Rachel Blaney has been the MP since 2015

Conservatives — Port McNeill municipal councillor Shelley Downey, who also ran in 2019

Greens — Comox human rights lawyer Jessica Wegg

Liberals — Jennifer Grenz, founder of an invasive-species management, ecological restoration, and food security planning company

PPC — Paul Macknight

Maverick — Comox veterinarian Stacey Gastis

Marxist-Leninists — Carla Neal is a Comox Valley peace activist