Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Candidate field set for Langford-Juan de Fuca byelection on June 24

Nomination deadline was Saturday; five candidates are running.

The four candidates already declared in the June 24 byelection in the riding of Langford-Juan de Fuca have been joined by a fifth hopeful in advance of Saturday’s deadline to file nomination forms.

The Greens of British Columbia’s Camille Currie, Conservative Mike Harris, BC United’s Elena Lawson and Ravi Parmar of the NDP were aleady in the field, which now includes Tyson Riel Strandlund of the Communist Party of B.C.

Candidates had until 1 p.m. Saturday to come forward.

The riding became open when former NDP premier John Horgan stepped down as an MLA in March, after previously stepping down as premier in November.

>>> To comment on this article, write a letter to the editor: [email protected]