Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Techie celebrates Champion role

Todd Dunlop used to be the new kid on the technology block and one of the up-and-comers.
Todd Dunlop, VIATeC's 2015 Technology Champion, often swings his "thinking bat" when pondering new ideas and strategies for the companies he's investing in.

Todd Dunlop used to be the new kid on the technology block and one of the up-and-comers.

But after receiving the Victoria Advanced Technology Council’s highest award on Friday, the young executive is going to have to get used to being seen as an elder statesman.

Dunlop has been named the Colin Lennox Technology Champion as VIATeC announced finalists for its annual awards.

“I was pretty shocked, and pretty honoured,” said Dunlop, who made his name in the tech sector after founding Neverblue Media 10 years ago and several other firms since. “The award has made me reflect and look at where the tech community has come in the last 10 years.”

Dunlop spends his days as CEO of his latest venture, RingPartner, which generates potential-customer phone calls for U.S. businesses. He is also the entrepreneur-in-residence at VIATeC’s accelerator program for new start-up firms and an investor in several local tech companies.

“Not only is he helping us out as entrepreneur-in-residence, which is fantastic, but he’s the kind of guy who actually invests and puts not just his money but his time, his passion and energy into the local tech scene,” said VIATeC chief executive Dan Gunn. “That’s the kind of character we want to celebrate, recognize and hopefully encourage more of.”

Dunlop will be given the award June 26 at VIATeC’s 14th annual awards dinner at the Victoria Conference Centre.

Also getting an award that night will be Codename Entertainment, which has been named VIATeC’s member of the year, and teacher Josh Elsdon from Monterey Middle School, who will be given the education champion award.

The organization has also released the 50 finalists for the 10 other awards.

A new award this year will recognize creative excellence and crosses the line from technology.

“One of the things that’s been changing is the blurring of the lines between innovation, entrepreneurship and creativity and where technology stops and entrepreneurship begins,” said Gunn. “Many people share similar character and DNA to the tech sector and we wanted to create an award to start recognizing that within our community as well.”

The companies up for that award are: Abeego Designs, Creole Jewellery Design, Hotel Zed, Is this Menswear? and Pacific School of Innovation and Inquiry.

Technology Company of the Year:

• AXYS Technologies Inc


• Latitude Geographics Group

• Reliable Controls Corporation

• RevenueWire Inc.


Emerging Technology Company:

• Crowd Content

• Engenuics Technologies Inc.

• Go2mobi

• Pretio Interactive

• RingPartner

• SilkStart Technology Inc.


Executive of the Year:

• Jim Hayhurst, Pretio Interactive

• Ho Kim, CAMACC Systems

• Bobbi Leach, RevenueWire Inc.

• Chris Noel, Hipwood Digital Inc.

• Tobyn Sowden, Red Brick Media

Innovative Excellence:

• Beanstream

• Echosec Systems Ltd.

• Giftbit

• Schneider Electric Victoria

• Stocksy United


Strategy of the Year:

• Atomic Crayon

• Caorda Solutions Inc.

• FCV Interactive


• MetaLab Design Ltd.


Product of the Year:

• ASL Environmental Sciences

• First Light Technologies Ltd.

• MediaCore

• Red Brick Media

• Youneeq


Employee/Team of the Year:

• HP Advanced Solutions

• North Studio

• RaceRocks 3D

• Reliable Controls Corporation

• Unit4


Employer of the Year:

• CAMACC Systems

• Cerner Canada

• MediaCore

• StarFish Medical

• Tutela Technologies Ltd.


Start-up of the Year:

• Accio Delivery Inc.

• Echosec Systems Ltd.

• LlamaZOO Interactive Inc.

• Tournamatic

• VidTime Online Inc.