Butchart GM takes lead at tourism group

Dave Cowen, general manager of Butchart Gardens, is the new chairman of Tourism Victoria, succeeding Deirdre Campbell of the Tartan Group at the top post of the destination marketing group. The new board assumes its duties on Jan. 1 and also includes first vice-chair Mandy Farmer of Accent Inns and a trio of vice-chairs - Darlene Hollstein of The Bay Centre, Ian MacPhee of Abbeymoore Manor B&B Inn and Starr McMichael of Starrboard Enterprises Inc. The directors are Geoff Dickson, Victoria Airport Authority; Brian Henry, Ocean River Sports; Kathy Kay, Victoria Film Festival; Bill Lewis, The Magnolia Hotel & Spa; Conny Nordin, Tourism Vancouver Island appointee; Brenda Ollis, Chateau Victoria Hotel & Suites; Derek Sanderson, Island IT; and John Wilson, Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce appointee. Representatives from Saanich and Victoria will be confirmed in January.

article continues below

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Most Popular