Layritz wins bid to host 2020 Canadian Little League championship

The association is holding a meeting on Sunday at Saanich Commonwealth Place and will release details for the event, including the tournament logo.

Layritz’s successful bid — which Dave Potter, Troy Dunning, Shannon Nakatsu, Ken Jones and Steve Haines worked hard to put together — was accepted last weekend.

article continues below

“This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and distinct honour for our region and park to be hosting this prestigious tournament,” said Dunning, vice-president of Layritz Little League. “The tournament winner automatically represents Canada at the annual Little League World Series held in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, each August.”

The 2017 Canadian Little League championship is scheduled for Medicine Hat, while the 2018 national tournament will be hosted by Regina.

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Most Popular