NDP candidate got 49.88% of vote in Nanaimo byelection

The Jan. 30 Nanaimo byelection outcomes remained unchanged, but numbers have shifted slightly now that absentee ballots have been counted by Elections B.C. to give a final count.

Sheila Malcolmson won the byelection, holding the seat for the NDP.

article continues below

In the final count, she had 12,114 votes for 49.88 per cent of the popular vote.

The 2,839 mailed-in absentee ballots were counted this week.

A total of 24,287 valid votes were counted. Prior to the byelection, Elections B.C. estimated there were 45,549 eligible voters.

The byelection was called because NDP MLA Leonard Krog announced he was running for mayor of Nanaimo and, after winning, resigned his seat.

Malcolmson’s win retained the status quo at the B.C. legislature. The NDP have 41 seats and the Greens three seats.

The two parties are in a partnership, allowing the NDP to govern. The B.C. Liberals have 42 seats.

Nanaimo 2019 provincial byelection

Final voting results

Sheila Malcolmson, B.C. NDP — 12,114, 49.88%

Tony Harris, B.C. Liberal Party— 9,691, 39.90%

Michele Ney, B.C. Green Party — 1,783, 7.34%

Justin Greenwood, B.C. Conservative Party — 491, 2.02%

Robin Mark Richardson, the Vancouver Island Party — 112, 0.46%

Bill Walker, B.C. Libertarian Party — 96, 0.40%

Source: Elections B.C.

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Find out what's happening in your community.

Most Popular