Islanders honoured with Order of Canada

Two Victoria residents and another from Pender Island were among 17 British Columbians and 144 Canadians appointed to the Order of Canada on Friday.

The Order of Canada recognizes Canadians from all sectors of society for their outstanding achievements, dedication to their communities and service to the nation.

article continues below

Pender Island’s Timothy Frick was recognized for his expertise in coaching and for his contributions to the advancement of parasports in Canada. The University of B.C. alumnus, who once coached Rick Hansen and Terry Fox, is a member of the Basketball B.C. Hall of Fame, Wheelchair Basketball Canada’s Hall of Fame, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame and the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame.

Victoria’s Max Blouw is a former president and vice-chancellor of Wilfrid Laurier University and receives the designation for his dedicated leadership as an academic administrator and for his advancement of evidence-based research at Canadian universities. In 2019, Blouw was appointed president of the Research Universities’ Council of British Columbia.

Joseph Michael Connors of Victoria was honoured for his contributions to the study and treatment of lymphoid cancers, and for his role in the advancement of lymphoma care in Canada. The award-winning lymphoid cancer clinician scientist retired from clinical practice in 2018, after 37 years at B.C. Cancer.

Gov. Gen. Julie Payette announced the 114 new appointments to the Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours, on Friday. According to a statement from the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General, in-person award ceremonies are on hold, but are expected to resume when public health measures permit.

The other British Columbians to be inducted to the Order of Canada:


• West Vancouver resident and lawyer Marcia Vaune Jocelyn Kran is being recognized “for her contributions to the advancement of international human rights and development, and for her steadfast advocacy of democratic governance.” Kran was re-elected to the United Nations Human Rights Committee earlier this fall, after becoming the first Canadian to be elected to the committee in more than a decade when she began her first term in 2017.

• Vancouver’s Yosef Wosk, O.C., receives the award “[f]or his far-reaching contributions to his community as a scholar, educator and writer, and for his generous philanthropy.”


• B. Lynn Beattie (Vancouver): “For her pioneering contributions to the field of geriatric medicine in Canada and abroad.” Among those numerous contributions was Beattie’s role as the founding head of UBC’s Division of Geriatric Medicine, and her efforts to help launch the province’s leading Clinic for Alzheimer Disease and Related Disorders at the university’s hospital.

• Izak Benbasat (Vancouver): “For his role in the development of the field of management information systems (MIS), and for his mentorship of generations of MIS scholars.” Benbasat is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and Sauder Distinguished Professor of Information Systems Emeritus at UBC’s Sauder School of Business.

• Robert Anthony Clark (Vancouver): “For establishing a world-renowned program to help businesses and customers identify and purchase sustainable seafood.” The chef, author and co-owner of the Fish Counter is a founding partner of the Vancouver Aquarium’s Ocean Wise program.

• Sandra Djwa (Vancouver): “For her promotion of Canadian and Québécois literature, and for her cultural contributions as a teacher, mentor, biographer and critic.”

• Priscilla Edson Greenwood (Vancouver): “For her contributions to the fields of statistics and mathematics, and for her pioneering work in probability theory.” Greenwood is a professor emeritus at UBC’s Department of Mathematics.

• Stanley Hamilton (Vancouver): “For his contributions to business education in Canada and abroad, and for generously supporting Vancouver’s arts scene.” Hamilton is a professor emeritus at Sauder School of Business, and was awarded her Order of British Columbia in 2017.

• Carol Pearl Herbert (Vancouver): “For contributions to the fields of clinical and academic medicine, as a family physician, medical educator, researcher and administrator.”

• John H. McNeill (Vancouver): “For his contributions to cardiovascular pharmacology and for his pioneering research that linked cardiac disease and diabetes.”

• Crystal Pite (Vancouver): “For her contributions to contemporary dance, as an innovative choreographer, dancer and director.” The award-winning choreographer and director is a former company member of Ballet British Columbia and William Forsythe’s Ballett Frankfurt, before forming her own company, Kidd Pivot, in Vancouver in 2002.

• Stefan Glenn Sigurdson (West Vancouver): “For his dexterous relationship-building skills and for his contributions to alternative dispute resolution across Canada and beyond.”

• David P. Wilkinson (North Vancouver): “For his contributions to electrochemical science and engineering, particularly the ongoing development of fuel cell technology.”

• Roger Wong (Vancouver): “For his contributions to the field of geriatric medicine, including the advancement of policies, education, and specialized, culturally sensitive health care.” Wong is currently the vice-dean of education at UBC’s Faculty of Medicine. He is a clinical professor of geriatric medicine, having previously served as president of the Canadian Geriatrics Society and is credited with founding Vancouver’s Acute Care for Elders Units. (ACE)

A complete list can be found here.

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Find out what's happening in your community.

Most Popular