New president of Canadian Cattlemen's Association from BC

A former president of the BC Cattlemen’s Association is the new president of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association.

David Haywood-Farmer was elected by acclamation as president of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association at the group’s annual general meeting last week in Ottawa.

Haywood-Farmer, a cow-calf producer at Savona, B.C., about 40 km west of Kamloops, was the BCCA’s president from 2012 to 2014 and past-president until 2016, and was CCA vice-president from 2016 up until last week. As president he replaces Dan Darling of Castleton, Ont., who had led the group since 2016.

A third-generation rancher on a century farm, Haywood-Farmer has been a member of the CCA board of directors since 2014 and chaired its foreign trade committee and domestic agriculture policy and regulations committee.

Haywood-Farmer, in a CCA release Friday, said his priorities at the CCA helm include “a focus on trade and environment and ensuring a sustainable future for beef production.”

On the trade file, those priorities include pressing for “swift implementation” of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP); obtaining a free trade agreement with China; and resolving technical barriers in the Canada-European Union free trade pact.

“The CCA has achieved significant progress on a number of key files and I am determined to keep that momentum going,” he said.

Replacing Haywood-Farmer as CCA vice-president is Bob Lowe, the former chair (2015-17) of Alberta Beef Producers and a CCA board member since 2009. Lowe feeds cattle at Nanton in southern Alberta, about 30 km south of High River, and has a cow-calf operation at Eriksdale, Man., about 140 km northwest of Winnipeg.

New directors officially named last week to the CCA board include Brian McKersie of Canal Flats, B.C.; Charlie Christie of Trochu, Alta.; Miles Wowk of Beauvallon, Alta.; Gord Adams of Deloraine, Man.; Jason Reid of Thunder Bay, Ont.; and Craig McLaughlin of Whitewater Region, Ont.

The CCA also elected directors Doug Sawyer, Cathy Sharp, Pat Hayes and Ramona Blyth to its executive committee. — Network

© Copyright Dawson Creek Mirror News