Peace River leader inducted into Alberta 4-H Hall of Fame

Sally Barkwell and Leora Carothers are the 2019 inductees into Alberta’s 4-H Hall of Fame.

“Congratulations to this year’s 4-H Hall of Fame inductees. These individuals have contributed countless hours to 4-H and embody its selfless spirit of volunteerism and community building. Thank you for your leadership with this important rural youth development program," said Devin Dreeshen, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry.

The 4-H Hall of Fame honours exceptional 4-H leaders for exemplary service, mentorship and volunteerism in their communities. Candidates are nominated by their 4-H peers and are evaluated based on their demonstrated leadership qualities, community references and contributions to 4-H, agriculture and their local communities.

4-H Alberta is recognized as the premier youth leadership organization in Alberta. Working together in a vibrant, thriving environment, 4-H Alberta leaders connect people, ideas and communities for a lifetime of benefit. 4-H Alberta is the largest youth organization in the province, with more than 250,000 alumni.

Sally Barkwell, from Peace River, is a passionate and avid supporter of the 4-H program and values the skills it teaches members, especially communication and leadership. A 20-year volunteer, Sally has worked tirelessly with 4-H Alberta to ensure that the needs of the peace region are met.


© Copyright Dawson Creek Mirror News