Kamloops' Barker saluted for her contribution to curling

Dianne Barker of the Kamloops Curling Club was honoured by the Canadian Curling Association on Tuesday.

Barker was announced as the winner of the Ray Kingsmith Award for commitment and dedication to curling by the CCA on Tuesday. She will be honoured at an undetermined date.

According to a CCA news release, Kingsmith, a former CCA president, "was a tireless worker on behalf of curling, and the same description can be applied to Barker."

Barker, who has been involved in curling as a player and as an administrator with both Curl B.C. and the CCA, has been working hard as an official of late. She has worked countless national and international events, including serving as chief umpire at the 2011 and 2012 world junior championships and deputy chief of competition at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics. She also is to work as an on-ice official at the 2014 Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

And, starting Thursday, she will be working the world junior championships in Sochi. Those championships will run through March 10, and are seen as a test run for the Olympics.

The CCA also announced two inductees into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame - Edmonton's Cathy King and Vernon's Sonja Gaudet will be inducted at a ceremony in June.

King won Canadian championships in junior (1977 and 1978), women's (1998) and senior (2012). She finished third at the world championship in Kamloops in 1998, and played in seven Scotties Tournament of Hearts national championships during her career.

Gaudet is Canada's most decorated wheelchair curler, having won gold at the past two Paralympics - in Turin, Italy, in 2006 and in Vancouver in 2010. She also helped Jim Armstrong's rink win gold at the wheelchair championships in Sochi last week, her third world championship.

Other CCA award winners are Samantha Stouffer of Brantford, Ont., who is the volunteer of the year, and Prince Albert's Pat Bibby, who has won the CCA award of achievement.

© Copyright 2018 Kamloops Daily News