Sal Demare elected as SLRD Area A director

Sworn in Feb. 26

Sal Demare has been elected to the Squamish-Lillooet Regional district board of directors as the Electoral Area A director.

Demare is scheduled to be sworn in at the SLRD Board meeting today, Feb 26.

“I want to thank everyone for voting, supporting and volunteering for either candidate. It was democracy in action and that is a good thing,” Demare said last week.

“This election for the SLRD Area A Director’s position was the first that had significant number of voters from every area in the valley that participated in it. I had support from every area of the valley, Bralorne, Gold Bridge, Gun Lake, Gun Creek Road, Tyaughton Lake, and Marshall Lake. There were 207 ballots cast and that was a great turnout.”

Demare said recent elections in Area A have actually been contested by candidates, which he called “a very positive thing for the community.” He also had some words for his opponent.

“I congratulate Steve Oakley on a very well-run campaign and thank him for running. I also sent an e-mail to Steve and next time I see him I will do it in person,” Demare said.

A by-election for the Area A director position was required after John Courchesne resigned last fall for personal reasons. The position was temporarily filled by Steven Oakley, who was previously the alternate director for Electoral Area A.   Oakley and Demare were the two candidates running for the director position in the by-election. 

“On behalf of the SLRD Board of Directors, I would like to thank both candidates for their commitment to their communities, and to the regional district,” SLRD board chair Tony Rainbow said. 

“It’s a big commitment, to run for public office, and we are fortunate to have had community-minded individuals come forward to fill this important role,” he continued.

“The board looks forward to working with Mr. Demare in his new role as Electoral Area A director.  The board wishes to thank Mr. Oakley for filling the role of director on an interim basis until the by-election could be held.”

Demare received 118 of the 207 votes cast in the by-election. He and Oakley tied in the advance voting with 29 votes each. Oakley came out ahead in the general voting on Feb. 15–51 votes to 32–and Demare dominated the mail ballots, receiving 35 of 39 from the mail ballot box in Gold Bridge and 22 of 27 from Pemberton.

The SLRD is governed by a 10-member board of directors composed of four electoral area directors and six municipal directors (one director from the District of Lillooet, one director from the Village of Pemberton, two directors from the Resort Municipality of Whistler and two directors from the District of Squamish).

Electoral Area directors are elected by rural area voters during the General Local Elections (held most recently in B.C. on October 20, 2018) to serve a four-year term. Demare will serve for the remainder of the current 2018-2022 term.

Municipal directors are first elected to their respective municipal council and then appointed by their council to serve on the regional district board.

© Copyright Bridge River Lillooet News