Starfish boss the tech champion

Scott Phillips, the chief executive of medical-device maker StarFish Medical, will receive the Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion at this year’s VIATEC awards. Phillips will be honoured at the 16th annual awards ceremony June 2 at the Victoria Conference Centre.

The awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest-growing technology region in the province, as well as the leaders, creators and innovators who have driven the region’s largest private industry to more than $3.15 billion in annual sales.

article continues below

After sifting through 141 nominations, 48 finalists have been selected for 12 award categories, and an additional four recipients were selected for individual awards.

“I’ve had the pleasure of knowing Scott Phillips for more than

15 years and I’ve seen his dedication to our tech community as a VIATEC board member, volunteer mentor, CEO round table chair and most importantly, as an example of how to join, lead and participate in building a strong tech community,” said Dan Gunn, CEO of VIATEC, or Victoria Innovation, Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council.

“Our tech community is stronger for having him among us and I think Colin Lennox would be proud to see Scott recognized in this manner.”

RevenueWire will receive the VIATEC Member of the Year award, Paretologic will get the Community Involvement Award and the Newcomer Award will go to Spotify co-founder Scott Lake.

The Capital Investment Network has introduced its Angel of the Year Award, which will be presented to Rasool Rayani.

• Company of the Year

(50+ employees):

ACD Systems International Inc.


Redlen Technologies Inc.

• Company of the Year (11-49):



Music Group Innovation Canada (TC Helicon)

Pretio Interactive


• Company of the Year (1-10):

Iris Dynamics Ltd.

Momentum Dashboard


• Emerging Company of the Year:


LlamaZOO Interactive Inc.


• Startup of the Year:


FreshWorks Studio

HYAS Infosec Inc.

Pixel Cents

Purpose Social

• Product of the Year:

Redbrick’s "Shift"

Telmediq Communication Hub"

VRX Simulators’ "6-DOF Simulator"

• Innovative Excellence Software or Service:

LlamaZOO Interactive Inc.


Suntracker Technologies Ltd

TrichAnalytics Inc.

• Innovative Excellence Hardware:

Iris Dynamics Ltd.

Ocean Networks Canada

Redlen Technologies Inc.

• Leader of the Year:

Tim Collins, HP Advanced Solutions Inc.

Nicole Smith, Flytographer

Scott Dewis, RaceRocks 3D

Kim Krenzler, RevenueWire

• Emerging Leader of the Year:

Jeremy Hoffman, Go2mobi

Eric Haight, KANO

Anita Pawluk, RaceRocks 3D

Hunter Macdonald, Tutela Technologies

Christina Seargeant, Workday

• Team of the Year:

Atomic Crayon

Coast Capital Savings Innovation Centre

Codename Entertainment


Udutu Online Learning Solutions

• Employer of the Year:


Pretio Interactive


RevenueWire Inc.


Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Most Popular