Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

On the Street: New director for museum

The Royal British Columbia Museum has added Peeter Wesik to its board of directors. He is the president of Wesgroup Properties, a B.C.

The Royal British Columbia Museum has added Peeter Wesik to its board of directors. He is the president of Wesgroup Properties, a B.C.-based real estate organization started more than 50 years ago that has a portfolio spanning residential and commercial real estate. Wesgroup has also invested in the equipment sales and service business under the brand names Williams Machinery and Westerra Equipment, with eight branches located throughout the province. Wesik previously practiced law as a partner at Russell & DuMoulin (now Fasken Martineau DuMoulin) and is involved in numerous industry associations, including the Urban Development Institute, where he served as a director and chairman. He is also a past trustee of the Vancouver Art Gallery. RBCM’s board also has chair Susan Knott, vice-chair Raymond Protti and directors David B. Adams, Daphne Corbett, Heidi E. Dale-Johnson, Garth M. Evans, Wendy King, Mark Palmer-Edgecumbe, Terry Segarty and Angela Wesley.


Sidney finalist for B.C. award


The town of Sidney is one of seven finalists for one of the B.C. Small Business Roundtable’s Open for Business Awards, which recognize communities undertaking initiatives and partnerships to reduce the cost and complexity of doing business in the province. Winning communities receive $10,000 to support the growth of local small businesses. “I am thrilled Sidney is a finalist for this award. It provides assurance that the work we have been doing to support local business has been recognized by business leaders throughout the province,” said Mayor Steve Price. Other finalists are Abbotsford, Langley, the Nisga’a Nation, Prince Rupert, Surrey and the Tsawwassen First Nation. Winners will be announced Sept. 22 at the Union of British Columbia Municipalities annual conference in Vancouver.


Scholarships for Island duo


Two Vancouver Island students have received a Freshwater Fisheries Society of B.C. scholarship recognizing their outstanding commitment to academic pursuits in the field of natural resource management. Owen Catherall, a Vancouver Island University student, was given a $1,500 scholarship toward his bachelor’s degree in natural resource protection. Camosun College student Nigel Delange received a $1,500 scholarship toward an environmental technology diploma. Scholarship applicants submitted a resumé and essay demonstrating commitments to academic pursuits, volunteer activities and to Freshwater Fisheries Society of B.C.’s goals such as research and habitat conservation.


Don’t miss


The Canadian Club of Victoria is hosting a lunch-time talk with author and Simon Fraser University professor Donald Gutstein Sept. 15 at Harbour Towers Hotel. The event is designed to generate discussion about the election and centres on Gutstein’s book, Harperism: How Stephen Harper and His Think Tank Colleagues Have Transformed Canada. Call 250-370-1837 to reserve.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks