On the Street: Forestry dispute; builders board; Inn at Laurel Point

Forestry union cancels town-hall meetings for talks

With mediated negotiations continuing with Western Forest Products, the United Steelworkers Union Local 1937 has cancelled a pair of town-hall meetings for its striking members.

The meetings that had been scheduled for Monday and Tuesday have been postponed indefinitely. Talks with the company and mediators Vince Ready and Amanda Rogers are scheduled to continue this weekend. A media blackout has been agreed to between the two parties.

article continues below

The 20-week strike has put nearly 3,000 Western Forest Products employees and contracted workers at six Island manufacturing plants and timberlands onto the picket line.

Laurel Point GM named canon

Ian Powell, managing director of the Inn at Laurel Point, has a new moniker to add to his impressive list of titles.

The current B.C. Hotel Association’s hotelier of the year, has been named a Diocesan Canon of the Diocese of British Columbia by Bishop Logan McMenamie. Powell was ordained a priest in the Anglican Church of Canada in 2009.

“It is such an honour to be recognized in this way for the two vocations I have pursued in my life,” said Powell. “Having been named B.C. hotelier of the year in the spring and now being appointed as canon last week perfectly represents two important parts of my life's work coming together.”

The 63-year-old Powell, who this year said he had 18 months left before he wished to retire, is overseeing the $10-million renovation of the Inn at Laurel Point, the hotel acquired by Paul and Artie Arsens in 1980 and expanded in 1989. The hotel renovation focuses on the entrance, lobby and restaurant area.

New builders board

Kyle Ryan of Abstract Developments is the new president of the Victoria Residential Builders Association and will be joined on the board by past president Jenny Martin, vice-presidents Dusty Delain and Norm Verbrugge, and treasurer Ellie Sercombe. Sitting as directors will be Tony Aindow, Derek Ballman, Russ Barry, Mike Dalton, Lisa Dunsmuir, Steven Hurst, Dan Olive and Paul Smith.

The VRBA also handed out its annual awards with Debra Dahlgren winning the president’s award for outstanding service, Andrew Tidman winning the Jerry Hepburn memorial award for integrity and professionalism and Rob Barry winning the Mike Kipot award for contributions to the industry.

Also winning awards were Coastal Community Credit Union, Trail Appliances, Steven Hurst, Murray Frank, Darrell Ell, Anton Van Dyk, Braden Batch, Todd Halaburda and Jenny Martin.

UVic business school honoured

The Peter B. Gustavson School of Business has been ranked 13th globally by Corporate Knights Better World ranking of MBA programs. The University of Victoria’s business school was recognized for its global leadership in sustainable business education. It was also ranked No. 3 in Canada.

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Most Popular