B.C. unveils new tourism marketing board

The board that will direct the tourism marketing of B.C. to the rest of the world was unveiled Thursday.

According to the province, the nine-member board which will oversee the operation of Destination B.C., the new provincial destination marketing organization, brings together a wide range of expertise in tourism, business and marketing.

article continues below

The members represent a range of skills and regions, but none are from the Island.

“The appointment of this board is another step our government is taking to put tourism marketing back into the hands of industry,” said Jobs Minister Pat Bell. “We made a commitment to create a marketing organization that would increase accountability to tourism operators and to taxpayers.

“I’m delighted that our industry partners have selected board members with the expertise and experience to make that goal a reality.”

The board will be chaired by Andrea Shaw, who formed close ties to government through the 2010 Olympic Games.

Shaw is the founder and managing partner of the TwentyTen Group and executive vice-president of Encompass International. She held the position of vice-president of sponsorship, sales and marketing for the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

The board includes:

• Susan Tamiko Doi, counsel and corporate secretary Whistler Blackcomb

• Gordon Fitzpatrick, president of Cedar Creek Estate Winery

• Gibby Jacob, hereditary chief of the Squamish Nation

• Wendy Lisogar-Cocchia, president Absolute Spa Group and vice-president Century Plaza Hotel

• Laird Miller, chief financial officer of London Drugs and Sonora Resort

• Loring Phinney, vice-president of corporate marketing for Bell Canada

• Robert Pratt, president of Coast Hotels and Resorts

• Al Raine, mayor of Sun Peak Mountain Resort municipality.

“I am both honoured and excited to chair the board of Destination B.C. with this amazing group of selected individuals,” said Shaw. “With the exceptional level of industry and business experience represented, our goal will be to provide solid leadership, guidance and accountability to both the organization and its stakeholders in an effort to strengthen the British Columbia brand in Canada and around the globe.”

The board was chosen from 130 applicants, who were evaluated on qualifications and experience.

The Minister’s Council on Tourism and the Tourism Industry Association of B.C. Provincial Destination Marketing Organization Task Force was consulted. The final list of board members was chosen by the two industry-led groups.

Board members may serve a term of up to three years with a possible renewal of one additional term of up to three years, for a maximum of six years.

The Tourism Industry Association of B.C. board appeared pleased with the appointments, despite no representation from one of the main tourism regions of B.C., Vancouver Island.

“These new directors bring a wealth of critical skills and experience, both from within and outside tourism, to this new organization, and we look forward to working with Andrea Shaw and her colleagues as they begin the essential transition work to the new structure,” said Tourism Industry Association chair Lana Denoni.

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Times Colonist

Most Popular