Meet the authors shortlisted for this year's Fred Cogswell Award

The Royal City Literary Arts Society has announced the shortlist for the sixth annual Fred Cogswell Award.

The 2019 Fred Cogswell Award for Excellence in Poetry was open to Canadian writers who had a book published in English in 2018.

Shortlisted for this year’s prize are (in alphabetical order by author):

  • Glitter & fall: Laozi’s Dao De Jing transinhalations, by Di Brandt (Turnstone Press)
  • Trauma Head, by Elee Kraljii Gardiner (Anvil Press)
  • Body Work, by Emilia Nielsen (Signature Editions)
  • For the Changing Moon, by Anna Marie Sewell (Thistledown Press)
  • Food Truck Elements of Shadowed Lights, by d.n. simmers (Silver Bow Publishing)
  • 9x11 and other poems like Bird, Nine, x, and Eleven, by Michael Turner (New Star Books)

The first-, second- and third-prize winners will be announced on Nov. 1. Winners earn prizes of $500, $250 and $100, respectively.

An award ceremony will be held Saturday, Nov. 30 at 2 p.m. at New Westminster Public Library. See for all the details.

© New West Record

Most Popular


    The Times Colonist is looking for newspaper carriers to work in the Reader Sales and Service Department.

Find out what's happening in your community.